Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

GM25R removal question, well, it's really for all FF trans.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GM25R removal question, well, it's really for all FF trans.

What do I put in the places where the CV axel goes to keep the spider gears from moving and me having to tear the trans apart to place them back? Is there a special piece that I can get at the parts stores or what? This is my first time removing a transmission with the intent of putting it back in.

Take it back to the back porch, join the 3 string revolution.

I have had my tranny removed twice and I moved it around the garage both times,I never left the axle's or anything on..Everything was in its place!!!
    06 vw Bora
    09 Nissan Versa
    fastest B6T is back!!!
    http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/785928

Comment

I've used a couple of pieces of heater hose that I had lying around before. A chunk of dowel the proper size will also work. Nothing special is needed, just something around the size of the axle to keep things in place. Good luck.
      1991 L 408,000 miles+ w/NEW B3 longblock!!
      2008 Nissan Versa S HB

Comment

I've also never had a problem with my transmission in the 4-5 times I've had it out of the car.

If you want something in there, get an old axle and cut it so you have a couple inches sticking out of the tranny. Attach a nice loop on there so you can grip it.
        OX SMASH!!

Comment

I use the old green c/v ends. But I too have never had them drop, but have heard of many that have. So I don't chance it.

Comment

zip ties will work too, metal wire, ext....
            Ian Carr
            88' flat black festy, has an e-brake that works!
            99' S70 T5M- faster DD
            86' 951- almost ready for track season

My old b6t- wish i still had it
            http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2241793

Every car I have owned has had a turbo in it, until I bought this latest festiva.. I plan to fix that though.