Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ducked trans, replace or is there an upgrade?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ducked trans, replace or is there an upgrade?

Dear FF.com,

what has caused my problem i don't know, but i noticed my trans got harder and harder to shift, i thought well i'll change the oil.

so with the oil drained i realized that there was 'some' oil missing (2/3 the amount there used to be), so i went to investigate.

The conclusion:
    The differential has an enormous amount of play in it, which leads to an axle seal dripping when i wiggle one of the axles (ill make a video and add it asap)
    This also explains the clunking noise after pressing or letting go of the gas.

Enough talking and get to asking:
    Should i replace the transmission with a stock one, or is there an (relatively) easy upgrade? (i have replaced clutches, transmissions etc before, as I'm a car mechanic student)
    I'm now refilling the trans twice a week

I'm currently running the stock b3 but may be in for a swap in the future

thank you guys in advance!
    greetings, JurreJonker

The definitive info on transmissions for the B series engine, such as in the Festiva, was posted by No Name Kid long ago, and updated over time.
    You can find it here

In short, there are many options, but most require you to do some kind of fab work. That may include make new transmission mounts, or a change in clutch, or starter position.
    Thricetiva replaced Icetiva as the new ride
    Icetiva-3-race-car-build
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2533299

Comment

Originally posted by jurrejonker View Post
      Dear FF.com,

The differential has an enormous amount of play in it, which leads to an axle seal dripping when i wiggle one of the axles (ill make a video and add it asap)
      This also explains the clunking noise after pressing or letting go of the gas.