First drive aspire suspension

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First drive aspire suspension

I took a quick trp to home depot today. I replaced just about everything. Both control arms are new, all sway bushings are new. KYB struts. Cut aspire springs, aspire rear axle.

Maybe its just me, after all its just a Festiva, but it feels like the cut coils allow more body roll than the old Festiva coils. Not being an engineer, I am wondering if cutting the coil etc. is really giving a higher spring rate? Th coil is pre-loaded based on the extended length of the strut until the weight of the car is lowered onto it. Maybe its the fact that the rear of the car now has some roll resistance. It just seems that the car just dives immediately when I was testing out how it handled. My car is still not aligned so maybe this has something to do with it.

89 L

how many coils did you cut?

its possible that if you cut off a LOT, that the springs are actually leaving their perches under hard braking or cornering, causing the strut to basically bottom out on one side & top out on the other side.

The springs may be softer in stock-form but if they were cut in 2/3rds or 1/2, while the spring itself will be stiffer, the extra travel distance that the strut can travel can cause this kind of problem.

Do you have the KYB GR2's or KYB Specials? Remember...the GR2's are NOT performance struts & are meant to be a premium OE replacement. Their valving is NOT more agressive than stock and thus, especially on a festiva, will not suit lowering springs well.

Roger offers KYB Specials (non adjustable but way firmer) for about 70-80 per corner. Other than using some other make/model's struts they are the best choice if you want to lower your car.
    Wil
    02' Sc00by WRX Sedan (current project)
    00' Celica GT Automatic 38mpg gas-sipper (sold)
    05' Scion xB box-on-wheels (sold)
    93' MX-3 Hybrid on LSD (sold )
    96' Slowtegé 42mpg Beast-mobile (engine exploded)