Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turning Off Speedo

Hey guys I was wondering something.

I'm not much of a mechanic, I'm a rookie as of this year, but I'm trying to learn more and more. We had a friend of ours saying that he was able to turn off his Speedo by switch, claiming that it made him faster since he was not worried about his speed, just looking at the road/tach. Is this actually possible or is he blowing this switch stuff out his behind? If it's possible to do this I think I would actually consider it because when we get up in speed I tend to let my eyes wander to the speedo. I tried searching for threads but mainly came up with replacing or upgrading the speedo instead of switching it. What are your guys' thoughts on it?

Car #789
    Sponsors: Williams American Construction, Dewaynes Tire service, Roofing Supply Group
    1992 Festiva L - BP Swapped, Aspire Swapped, Rally America Sanctioned.
    1993 Festiva GL - 4sp Automatic and the bluest car i've ever seen...
    http://www.facebook.com/warally

Festiva's use a cable from the transmission to the back of the speedometer so using and electrical switch wouldn't work.
    Some of the newer obd2 cars use a sensor at the transmission to send the signal. I had to replace the sensor on my 98 Dakota several years ago.
    Dont really see any benefit in turning it off on those.
    I'm fairly sure it sends the signal to.the computer.
    No signal from the speed sensor would probably cause the computer to set the a/f ratio wrong on the engine.
    A/f = air / fuel ratio.
    Last edited by Team Lightning; 09-01-2012, 12:52 AM.
    Jerry
    Team Lightning

Owner of Team Lightning
    90 L "Peewee" B6D. Bought new May 16,1990
    92 L Thunder BP G5M-R Turbo B6T electronics. Jan 2016 FOTM winner SOLD
    93 L Lightning. BP

Not a user of drugs or alcohol, Just addicted to Festiva's

Comment

it is mechanical...no way to switch it off. You could unscrew the cable from the tranny before a race