new guy, new toy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new guy, new toy

I had been watching for a cheap beater to drive so I can start tearing my daily driver 92 Jetta apart to replace the clutch, rebuild the shifter, do some body work, and perform various other repairs. My new girfriend happened to have a friend with a Festiva sitting all winter. I will be able to pick the car up for $100. It runs, but needs a starter and has a hole in the exhast manifold the size of a quarter. The car has about 236k on it. I plan to give it a more thorough inspection soon. The more I've thought about it, I might fix it up a little and keep it around assuming the floor, strut towers and other structural components are fairly solid. Who knows, maybe a swap will even be in it's future. As a noob here I'll definitely have a few questions along the way. For starters, are these cars getting kinda rare? I never see them around anymore and when I searched online for Festivas for sale, just for comparison, I found nothing. If they're getting as hard to find as I think, I'll definitely have to keep this car around. I'll be doing more research, but any advice on the car such as budget upgrade ideas is always appreciated.
    1992 Subaru Legacy
    1988 Chevy Caprice Classic

Welcome to the site. There are a lot of knowledgeable people on here to answer your questions, as well as plenty of threads that may answer some already. The Festivas are definitely not as prevalent as they used to be, but they are frequently found on eBay and Craigslist. I think more are coming out of the woodwork because of the fear of gas going back up. It's good to see a new member.
    http://www.cardomain.com/id/hawkdoc60

01 Chevy Impala 9C1 police package "Unnamed yet". 154K
    88 LX 5 speed "Silver PHOENIX" Currently being rebuilt inside and out. 400K
    88 L 4 speed "Cherry Bomb" saved from the car crusher just in time. 186K