Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

About to buy a festiva...what do I need to do.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• About to buy a festiva...what do I need to do.

I'm 16 and i've found somebody who said their friend has a decent running festiva for $200. Its going to be a project car/ beater. I have some experience working on cars and I know enough about them because I read stuff all the time. I've never bought a car before though, what do I need to do to make everything legal and official. I need to make a bill of sale and get the title right? What all exactly do I have to put on the bill of sale? Is there anything else? Thanks.

Try and get the bill of sale to be $1 so you don't have to even pay the tax on $200 and yeah that's all you need to do. Then you just need to have it titled in your name, registered, and insure it...
    Cosmic Blue 2008 Mazdaspeed 3 - Mostly Stock...

White 1990 Ford Festiva - B6 SOHC powered 50 shot = 14.5 @ 94 mph Gone but not forgotten

Proud member of Chicken Mechanix Racing

Comment

Do i just have to go to the DMV to do all that stuff? What about me being a minor, will I need a parent with me?

Comment

I'm not positive but I would probably bring a parent just in case...
        Cosmic Blue 2008 Mazdaspeed 3 - Mostly Stock...

White 1990 Ford Festiva - B6 SOHC powered 50 shot = 14.5 @ 94 mph Gone but not forgotten

Proud member of Chicken Mechanix Racing

Comment

First off what State are you from , ^^ like he said yes, you should bring a parent, State to state is different ,I won't go into all that, but here in Ill. a dealer cannot sell a car to someone under 18,
          and some private individuals that know the law won't sell to minor either.
          Good luck
          ------------------------------------------------
          The Trigger - Midwest Festiva Inc., Illinois Chapter
          Smart Passion white with H-D interior
          HD2500 Duramax Chevy