body work for dumbies?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• body work for dumbies?

I just picked up the festiva from links56. he graciously towed it up here, unfortunately the car is far from rust free as i was hoping. It has some cancer in both quarters and the rockers running below the doors. Im not sure if i should move on or attempt to do the body work my self, im under a time constant and of course tight budget. My plan is to take my turbo swap and put it into the new festiva, i did not make time or money to do the body work. Im a noob to body work, my buddy can do some decent back yard welding. i think the rockers will be easy to make due to there just curved and there underneath the car so they dont need to be perfect. what gauge and type of metal should i use? I touched the rockers with my fingers and i can feel its soft, im guessing i will have to take a cut off wheel and open it up to see how far back it goes. Now the quarters i dont think there's any way i can make my own with the body line so i think i will have to find a donor. how are the quarter constructed? are they structural where there will be reinforced metal behind them? so once i open it should i spray the inside with etching primer and leave the area where im going to weld clean? anyone have any good tips or good pictures? im hoping this wont be over my head. anyone got any clean quarters?

thanks

In rebuilding Aqua, I had to deal with bad quarters and rocker area ahead of the rear wheels, plus a couple other smaller holes in the floor, etc. Here is my build thread:

Members Builds (questions about repair or how to do something belong in the proper forum)

I get into the body work on the first page. It's simply closing up the holes, so don't expect "really nice work." I just wanted a dry, reasonably closed in and quiet car! If that's all you want it shouldn't be too hard.