RPM Question?????????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RPM Question?????????

I am wondering if somebody can tell me what RPM your 4speed is turning at 60mph and what your 5speed is turning at 60mph.I have a 4speed and just curious how much gas mileage difference I am going to see.I am new to the festiva but I did have over the years several geo metros.
    1989 Festiva L-4 speed Carby

Its a decent difference, like 3200 down to 2500 rpm or so. Maybe good for 5 mpg give or take.
    91GL BP/F3A with boost
    13.79 @ 100, 2.2 60' on 8 psi and 155R12's

Comment

Wow I didn't think it would be that much difference.Thanks
      Originally posted by bhazard View Post
      Its a decent difference, like 3200 down to 2500 rpm or so. Maybe good for 5 mpg give or take.

Comment

4 speed to 5 speed is huge on the highway... around town, very little difference.
        No festiva for me ATM...

Comment

Wait a minute. I thought final drive ratio was the same for 4 and 5 speeds. Only difference is ability to accelerate on the way up there.

Comment

Bert, 4th in a 5 speed is the same as 4th in a 4 speed. Not necessarily true for all cars, but for Festivas thats is the case.
            Last edited by htchbck; 04-25-2013, 07:42 AM.
            No festiva for me ATM...

Comment

What is the final ratio on the festiva anyways????????
              Originally posted by htchbck View Post
              Bert, 4th in a 5 speed is the same as 4th in a 4 speed. Not necessarily true for all cars, but for Festivas thats is the case.

Comment

All the ratios are the same. Except some early 4 speeds supposedly have different gearing.
                91GL BP/F3A with boost
                13.79 @ 100, 2.2 60' on 8 psi and 155R12's

Comment

what is the # like 4.30, 4.06 etc or what?????????
                  Originally posted by bhazard View Post
                  All the ratios are the same. Except some early 4 speeds supposedly have different gearing.

Comment