Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Your experiences with trying to get on a track?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your experiences with trying to get on a track?

So I've been working on the Festiva to try to get it track-ready. There is a group here called ComSCC that does all the tracks that I'm trying to get into but apparently, modified vehicles like my Festiva get railed. Here's the list of issues I'm running into:

1. Since it has an engine swap they have an algorithm in an Excel sheet to place you in a class. Since at the prime of it's life the Festiva had 63hp and the BP engine makes 127hp at 1720 pounds (online number), it gives it 50 points of "Engine Mods" which require it to have a roll bar. It also puts me in the class with Audi A4s, RX7 Turbos, etc.

2. I need a lower seat because per rules my head has to be 2 inches or more below the top bar. I'm 5'7" so that isn't a problem. HOWEVER, since I'm a novice in their eyes, I have to have a racing seat also for the passenger side, and it too has to abide to the 2 inch rule. So if I get a taller instructor and I can't make the passenger seat any lower than mine, I might be SOL.

3. I need a pair of harnesses, seat brackets, etc. With above it's rough because if I was doing it I would only have done the driver's seat to save cost.

I'm probably going to just do autocross next year because of all these barriers but I don't know if I should even keep the car the year after if I have to put $1500+ in safety equipment in it for $500+ of it to only be used maybe 3 times on a track. If it was stock, I would have no issues.

Anyone else run into these things trying to race with any of your cars?
    Current cars:

1993 Ford Festiva 5-Speed - Festiclese III - Cousin of the Banhammer - "The Jalopnik Car"
    1984 Toyota Cressida - 2JZGE Swap, Turbocharged.
    2013 Mazda Mazda2 - Exhaust and Wheels (the daily)
    2002 Toyota Tundra - V6/Auto/2WD - The Tow Vehicle.