Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bit My Tongue

I'm a professional.

I hold an advanced degree, I wear a tie to work and I own a pair of shoes that cost $200 (but I wear my Rockports more often then not).

People pay me money to solve their problems for them. Usually, they caused these problems themselves. I'm not bragging, this is who I am and I've worked d*mn hard to get here. 'Nuff said.

An individual who is paying me money right now to solve his problems says to me after a meeting this morning, "Hey, I saw you driving a little Festiva around town. That's embarrassing. I can sell you a 69 Charger for you to drive instead!"

I smiled politely, thanked him and explained that my work generally puts 30K miles a year on my car and at $3.19/G, I'd rather stick with 37-41mpg.

"But with the bigger engine, you have more horsepower and you get better mileage."

I smiled politely, thanked him again for his generous offer, bit my tongue even harder and showed him the door. I won't re-adjust his bill this month, but I'm sorely tempted to. :twisted:

What have people said to you about your little car that has set your teeth on edge? What did you do?

B
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "You came in that thing? You're braver than I thought."

I do basically like you said.... explain to them that I drive the car by choice....for how the gas milage is and because I just plain like it. If they proceed to make fun...I then proceed to laugh at the money they throw away each day because they are to stupid to worry about the extra money I save because I have no car payment....insurance is low...I can repair anything on it myself....the list goes on....hahahahahahaha....
    "FLTG4LIFE" @FINALLEVEL , "PBH"
    89L Silver EFI auto
    91GL Green Auto DD
    There ain't no rest for the wicked
    until we close our eyes for good.
    I will sleep when I die!