Weird drivability issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weird drivability issue

The car is My 89 L 4 speed. (carb) It runs and idles really good, but when you go to take off it bogs down. It will stall if you don't feather the gas to get going. After you are moving along it is OK. It seems like it pops through the carb when it does this. I also noticed it was high on the NOX for it emissions test. I am not sure it is carb related or not, any thoughts?
    Brian
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2274977

93 GL modyfied!!!
    :fish:

nox is nitrides of oxygen. im a diesel mechanic and i know that in a diesel engine high levels of nox is caused by high exhaust gas temperature. it could be the same in a gas engine but im not sure.
    1993 5 speed FI. 2-5/8" tach, short throw, muffler delete. SOLD
    1993 5 speed FI. A/C! muffler delete, 2-5/8" tach, 5% tint, 14" alum. wheels, JVC head unit, 2 MTX 10" subwoofers. 195K
    2000 Trans Am 6 speed
    1997 HD 1200 sportster
    1986 Honda Rebel 250

Comment

I would guess that your carb's accelerator pump may not be functioning properly. It may be time for a rebuild of the carb.
      1991 L 408,000 miles+ w/NEW B3 longblock!!
      2008 Nissan Versa S HB

Comment

Originally posted by smokin fastiva
        nox is nitrides of oxygen.
        NOx are nitrogen oxides specifically NO(Nitrogen oxide) and NO2(Nitrogen Dioxide), also known as Mono - Nitrogen Oxides.
        There are no nitrides of oxygen.
        I know a little about chemistry

im a diesel mechanic and i know that in a diesel engine high levels of nox is caused by high exhaust gas temperature. it could be the same in a gas engine but im not sure.