2 piece cv boots?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 piece cv boots?

Has anybody had experience with 2 piece cv boots?

The right side cv boot had split and I didn't want to take everything apart to replace the boot and I didn't want to get charged $200 by a garage so I went and picked up a 2 piece kit. It seemed simple enough, the two halves are bonded togather over the axle and clamped on properly.

So I get the old one off, get the new one in place, and it's too dang big! :evil: I called back the store I got it from, gave them the parts number and was told it would fit.

I'm no mechanic but I know this thing is too big, there's no way its going on snug. Am I going to have to take it to the garage or is there another way around this?

I've never heard anything good about the 2 piece ones. Typically you get a leak, the grease flings all over the place, you run the CV joint out of grease, and you eventually ruin the CV joint.

It's not that hard to replace the boots if you have some basic tools. A new boot is about $12. You can take the lazy way out and just replace the whole axle with a rebuilt one. Usually about $60.

Comment

Inner or outer boot? Where is it to big...axle or hub? Some two piece boots are 'universal'...in the package they have a set of sleeves that adapt the axle diameter to the boot. Maybe the adaptor sleeves were missing!

I didn't think they made 2 piece boots anymore. I thought aftermarket universal boots are split type...only one joint to glue.

The trick to puting split boots on is after the old boot and grease have been removed. Put the new boot on and glue in place. After the glue has dried...slide the boot back and put the new grease in place...this prevents the grease from contaminating the joint to be glued.

I paid about $80 for all 4 boots 2 years (Car Quest) Took less than three hours. Not hard to do at all. No special tools required.
      Joe Lutz

The SKATE ..... 1992L 5spd