New from the Rust Belt, Bodywork question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New from the Rust Belt, Bodywork question

Hey guys, I'm new to the site. I'm a law student/researcher in Pittsburgh, PA. I've been working with Hondas for a while but I'm in love with hatches in general so I just bought my first Festiva (I also own an 82 Renault LeCar and our garage currently houses a couple of Yugos as well). It's a 91 that I bought for $75 when the PO was quoted several hundred at another garage to replace the rotors and the e-brake cable. I had my garage slap some new rotors on in about 20 minutes (we expected it to be much more of a pain) and she's on the road! Officially the cheapest running and driving vehicle I've ever picked up!

But ohhhh she needs work. Aside from a terribly leaky valve cover and the ebrake replacement, the biggest problem I have is rust in the rear quarters. The front corners of the rear wheel well are gone, as in not there. At some point the area was pretty heavily patched with some fiberglass but it's a mess. Christmas break means it's time to put in some work, but I'm wondering what solutions anyone has used. With Hondas, we pretty much have to find a donor car from a yard that will let us remove the quarter panel (since I've never found a place that will let you cut), which you can then cut and weld in or just hang the whole new quarter. I haven't thoroughly inspected the Festiva so I don't know exactly what that body panel is like, but does anyone make a replacement panel? (On a side note, why is it that I can find 12x12 replacement panels for our Ford Explorer and about every damn truck on the road, but I have never seen anyone make them for any car I've ever owned?)