Starter delay/intermittent no start, no power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starter delay/intermittent no start, no power

Greetings, this is my first time back since I bought my second Festiva (1990 L) back in March. I got it running over the summer and its been a great daily driver so far.

Ever since I bought the car I've been having a weird issue with cranking. At first, there was almost always a delay after turning the key, sometimes for up to five seconds. I mostly got used to it because the car always started. I figured it was the starter motor solenoid. I could hear that motor itself was going bad. I mostly ignored it until last week.

Last week, it started getting worse; the car refused to crank after many attempts at turning the key. Some times it would engage for have a second or so, other times just a single click. After awhile, the dash lights stopped coming on when I turned the key to run, or sometimes they would come on dimly. Just when I was ready to take the bus home, I gave it one last try and it started up without any issue.

The dash lights not wanting to come on make me think it has something to do with the ignition switch. I went ahead and replaced the starter motor anyway because as I said it was already on its way out, and the issue persists. I tried taking the ignition switch out and tested for continuity between the pins. As per the diagram, 2 and 5 were closed when I turned it to start with a screw driver. 1 and 2 were also checking out okay. The car doesn't stall out while driving like some people have had happen to them with bad switches. I didn't check 3 and 4, because the radio and fan always came on (my fan stays on in run ). The new starter motor works, I have started the engine a few times with luck. It starts up without issue when it works. Now that I'm writing this I'm wondering if it's not the clutch switch, as I have not thought to check that...