Something's wrong and I can't figure out what

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Something's wrong and I can't figure out what

Sorry this is my first time using a forum...
    I just bought a 1991 Ford Festiva. I got it home, tinkered around, gave it a tank of gas, and was able to drive it around the block just fine. I came back the next day and it just wasn't starting. The few times it started it would slowly taper off and die. I got a fault code of 81 but I have no idea what's wrong! 177,000 miles... Bought it as a project.
    Let me know any extra info you need! I welcome any help!

You have used the correct forum correctly. Unfortunately the Haynes manual does not show a code 81. It shows codes on the 1990-1995 EFI engines between 01 and 34 inclusive. Also a search on "code 81" (see search box top right of screen) does not return anything on that code. Out of curiosity which method was used to retreive the code?

I just did a Google search of the Internet on "ford festiva code 81" and got some hits. While waiting for replies here you might try looking at some of those.

Original owner of silver grey carburetted 1989 Festiva. 105k km as of June 2006. 140k km as of June 2021.

Comment

I just did a Google search of the Internet on "ford festiva code 81" and got some hits. While waiting for replies here you might try that.
      Original owner of silver grey carburetted 1989 Festiva. 105k km as of June 2006. 140k km as of June 2021.

Comment

I re ran the codes, I was reading them wrong. It's actually 8 and 10 which comes out to problems with the airflow sensor and the intake air temperature sensor.

Comment

I have the carburetted engine so no personal experience but over the years have read about common problems with the MAF(mass air flow?) sensor on fuel injected engines. You might try a search on the sensors. Hope that works.

Comment