Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Barometric Pressure Sensor?

88LX 5 spd

Checking the ignition timing and the book says to disconnect the barometric pressure sensor. Doesn't tell me where it is. From the pics I've found at online parts places,

it looks like it is on the fire wall in the very top corner on the passenger side. Is that right? Do I just disconnect the hoses or the wire connection? Thanks.

The BP (Barometric Pressure ) sensor in normally integrated with the ECA except on the early festivas, capris, and tracers. I think the 1.3 carb engine uses a MAP ( Manifold Absolute Pressure ) sensor. I think that's what you have pictured. I'm not an expert on the early carb models though.

sigpic
    The Don - Midwest Festiva Inc., Missouri Chapter

Link to my festiva pictures below
    https://fordfestiva.com/forums/album.php?albumid=10
    Celebrating 25 years of festiva(s) ownership.

Comment

Therris, what you have pictured is the Barometric Pressure Sensor, which if you open the hood, and look, is to the far passenger side, on the firewall. There is a hose and an electrical connection. Not too bad. The MAP sensor is an entirely different animal. It is located where Fresh's pic shows, kinda of just to the driver's side of the carb, on the firewall. Hope this helps.

Dumb thieves go to prison, smart ones go to work for the Government.

1988 L - 232K miles Batstiva
      1989 L - 247K miles Slick
      1990 L - 281K miles Orphan Annie
      Let the hoarding begin!! :mrgreen:

Comment

I'll try to remember to check the Haynes manual when I get home. All I can remember is shorting the white connector near the driver's side fender, disconnecting and plugging the vacuum advance hose on the top of the distributor with a golf tee, and disconnecting a single black connector in front of the distributor.
        Original owner of silver grey carburetted 1989 Festiva. 105k km as of June 2006. 140k km as of June 2021.

Comment