Newbie here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here

hey guys. I signed up to learn more about these cars for my friend. he isn't a mechanic but my brother and i are.

i went to change his sparkplugs the other month because he was having a bad misfire, and every one of them broke off in the cylinder head, so we pulled the head and brought it to a machine shop. they washed it, pulled the plugs out, and heli coiled it but the new spark plugs wouldn't go in so we bought a tap from autozone. The valve cover gasket was blown so the whole block was covered in oil, it had an exhaust leak, and was burning coolant, so it was pretty due for maintenance, anyways. When putting it back together, we replaced gaskets, but did not install new hardware (studs, ETC) Had a little misunderstanding with the timing, but after buying the Haynes manual, we got it at 3* BTDC and it fired right up.

All was well until a couple weeks ago. It started pouring coolant again. The head gasket blew..I don't know if it's because we installed it incorrectly, or if it is because we did not replace the hardware. I know for a fact that while i was at work, my brother "torqued" the head bolts - We don't have a torque wrench yet. So anyways, this kid is dead broke and doesn't have the money to fix his car, so it's been sitting in his driveway since. I want to get it fixed once he has the money, but i was wondering what we need to buy in order to fix this thing and not have to worry about it again.

by the way, i think it has 142,000 miles on it. and it seems as if the head had been pulled before in the past.

1979 toyota hilux 4x4
    1987 toyota pickup 4x2
    1984 toyota celica GT liftback
    1996 Ford Ranger V6 4.0 OHV 4x4
    2003 Kx 250 2 stroke, woods racer

With everything you stated so far it soundslike the engine was run hot at one point in its life. These engines tend to live long healthy lives, getting past 200,000 with just tune up parts.