Emergency: Car runs :P then dies :(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Emergency: Car runs :P then dies :(

Driving home my car died about 5 miles away from my house. Thank god got it towed fast.

Ok, when i turn it on, it runs in neutral. Then when i switch in any gear( 1st, 2nd, reverse) then it dies.

It turns on so it cant be the alt.

I am still learning cars so I am taking a guess that its either the distributor or ignition coil???

It is an 89 carb 4 speed.

i CALLED CHECKERS AND THEY DONT HAVE ANY METERS TO TEST IT OUT ( I KNOW WHAT THE HECK).

Any input will be appreciated. i have 3 more weeks till school starts so PLEASE helpme get my baby running right.

are u guys serious? 12 views and not 1 answer?

Comment

are you serious? i have no idea, i have the complete opposite of your car, efi,auto. id check the carb. because its either fuel, air or spark that makes a carb'd engine run, right so check those
      http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2065064/1
      Paulbarrera12.com
      Festiva Visualizer Project

Comment

when its in neutral, can you rev it up without hesitation?

Comment

yes i can rev no problem/.

Comment

are we talking neutral or park?

Comment

Is it manual or automatic?, cuz if it's a manual there is no "park" If it's manual, it could be the clutch not catching when you throw it into gear...how much do you rev it when you put it into gear? also check your clutch cable. did you just buy the car?
              89' Maroon and black Festiva LX with a sunroof. :alien:

Comment

its a 4 speed. didnt see that.

Comment

Originally posted by collegeboi View Post
                  are u guys serious? 12 views and not 1 answer?
                  You need to learn some patience, not all the gurus sit around waiting to solve problems.
                  Last edited by Pu241; 08-03-2008, 08:26 PM.
                  Brian
                  http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2274977

93 GL modyfied!!!
                  :fish:

Comment