Wheel Bearing Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wheel Bearing Question

So i am fairly certain my right rear wheel bearing is bad considering the very obvious positive camber and the constant humming.

Two part question:
    1.) What all do i need to replace while i am doing this...inner, outer, race???anything else i am missing? Does the race come with the bearing?

2.) I have not yet done the aspire swap and am really wanting to but have not yet found the parts. If i spend all this money to replace will all of that be replaced by the aspire parts???? or can i use the new bearings with aspire swap?

I have never done a bearing before so this is new to me.

Is there anything else that could possibly cause this? i would hate to replace the bearings and still have a problem.

Thanks

-Rob

Posible causes:
    1) Old Bearings
    2) Missing dust cap.
    3) Inner seal is shot.
    4) Spindle nut is loose or over tightened.

Notes for replacement:
    1) Do both rear wheels.
    2) Purchase complete inner sets, outer sets, seals, and spindle nuts. Save nothing.
    3) Purchase a small tub of Hi-temp wheel bearing grease
    4) Purchase some aresol solvent, Brake-Kleen or the like.
    5) Purchase a Hanyes manual for instruction.

This is not a hard job...dirty...the trick is to not damage the drum when pulling the seal or knocking the old outer races out of the drum. I use a brass punch. Then clean every thing very well and get rid of all of the dirty/grimey stuff before starting the installation. Follow the Hayne's instructions from here.

I can do mine in less than an hour.
    Joe Lutz

The SKATE ..... 1992L 5spd
    The Greatest Purchase I Ever Made

Comment

check the insides of the drum first, might be craped already by the old outer bearing
      http://kiaprideclub.proboards.com/index.cgi

Comment