88' Festiva LX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 88' Festiva LX

Well I was recently given this vehicle & I think if I put about $500 into her she'll be ready for the road. First off this site is great I've never seen so many fans for one car! The general car knowledge is great also.

I have never worked on a car before so bear with me if I don't get it. OK but first things first. IT has 95,000 miles on it, from what I've read here these baby's can last up to 200,000. The E-brake cable is broken so I need to replace that. I have no idea where to get parts for her. Ford could not help me either.

She does start but red lines even when not pressing on the gas. There is alot of rust. I am definitely replacing the tires (they are 165/70 R12)
    probably from tirerack.com. The clutch & shift seem to work fine but I haven't taken her that far (its not registered). But I need to know what to go over first & what to look for. Any help would be appreciated.

The body in those pics looks to be pretty clean for an 88. And I like those rims. Weren't they the optional rims on the GL sport Festiva? Are you sure it's redlining, not just revving really high? Could be a massive vacuum leak, or your throttle cable is stuck.

Comment

I may have exaggerated a bit its sticking around 2-3 rpms in neutral. Is that typical? I shifted to first & it lunged forward! Almost shot through the garage door I would never have heard the end of that. :shock:
      Again I gave it no gas...

On the other hand there is absolutely no leaking from what I can see. I'm a car noob here. Where would i find the throttle cable?

Comment

in your photo above, it's the cable next to the oil filler cap going over the valve cover..

Comment

Put some air in the front left tire before you go anywhere with it!

Comment

Welcome Vel!