10 Steps Forward One step Back

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 10 Steps Forward One step Back

I have been making a lot of progress on my car since I bought it a couple months ago.

Rebuilt the back brakes
    replaced the valve cover gasket & painted the valve cover
    changed the oil twice to flush out the black sludge that was in it
    changed the transaxle fluid
    Installed a wiper switch and got the rear wiper functional
    installed a CD player
    Changed the gauge cluster to one with a tach

Today I did the DJ seat swap on some capri seats, pulled all the carpet and power washed it, patched a rather sizable hole in the floor pan

Here is the problem.
    When I went to go leave my friends house I flipped on my lights, turned the key on accessory, and ejected a CD and replaced it with a new one. Then I hear a crackling and smell something burning. I look at the gauge cluster and see a thin line of smoke rising either inside the clear plastic or right in front of it. I hurry up and shut the lights off and flipped the key off. Ran up to my friends house and he brought a flashlight out and we checked it out.
    No fuses are blown but I have no dash or gauge cluster lights now. The seat belt light, parking brake light, green turn signal light, etc... all still work just not the lights that illuminate the whole cluster and the dash lights. Radio still plays, all exterior lights work.

Anything like this ever happen to anybody? Do i just replace the gauge cluster and all will be fine or is the problem deeper.

We were cutting with a Matabo on the floor boards near the bundle of wires running to the ECU. But I don't believe we got close enough to nick them or anything.

Any help would be appreciated.