Oild in MAF tube & Distributor !??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oild in MAF tube & Distributor !??

I may own a bunch of festivas,but,I am no mechanic.I was told when I got the car it needed a distributor,but,never had a problem and the used one I bought is in the back.The car stalls every once-in-a-while.Today , I went out in the road where it had just stalled after my mom pulled out.She had driven it all day with no problems.She got home and tried to leave 20 mins later.it started,she backed out,put it in drive and it stalled(it has done this atleast 10 times and a couple on takeoff from a stop sign or light).Anyway.We have always waited and later it started.Well , today,I went out and pulled the distributor off and the pics below are what I found.I cleaned it all out and it started.I dunno what causes it ,but,I bet you all aren't going to give me good news.Also,the black air tube that goes to the MAF has oil residue in it too.
    The pics are of the 2 distributors.I put them on here,too,to make sure I got the right one.Numbers a a little different and the one has a "notch" out of it.Any help is appreciated.

I have a 92k engine to put in if the problem is major.Thanks .

Does it do the same thing with another distirbutor?
    I dont believe the oil in there is a problem because of the oring on the distributor. But I could be wrong.
    As far as the set of numbers next to the BP01, Id guess thats possibly the manufacture date.

It may be possible that the ignition module is going or gone bad. But you said it would start right up after it stalled which make me think that thats not it. Usually if its the module it will stall and then not start up until it(the module) has cooled off then eventually itll get bad enough that it wont start at all.

Have you cleaned out the inside of the cap real good and checked how worn it is? It and the rotor may need to be replaced. Basically just do a full tune up on it.