cv axles knocking-need replace? or can i be cheap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cv axles knocking-need replace? or can i be cheap

so my axles are clickin.knocking on turns and it is kind of annoying, from what i gather this may be due to the boots getting dirt and grim in the axles? anyway was wondering if there is any quick fix to remedy this or if maybe I can just get new boots 4 now with new grease? thanks
    91 red l-

sorry to say but they need replaced or they will fail and that could be serious! i'm an auto tech by trade! replacement is the only option in my opinion!
    IF ONE FESTI IS GOOD THEN TWO IS BETTER!

93 L TEAL ( this winter new paint) full 2.25" exaust w/flowmaster 2 chamber! all black interoir! coil overs and aspire swap in the wings and 14" jetta mk3 alloy wheels! bp+t on the way!

Comment

Yep, they are'nt that expensive. Buy new ones though, not rebuilt.
      sigpic
      The Don - Midwest Festiva Inc., Missouri Chapter

Link to my festiva pictures below
      https://fordfestiva.com/forums/album.php?albumid=10
      Celebrating 25 years of festiva(s) ownership.

Comment

What's the best brand of axles? Mine starting clicking on turns a few days ago.
        1986 Comp Prep SVO Mustang(1 of 83) Four cylinder turbo! (Think first Fox body "R" model!)
        1995 F-150 Extra Cab and it was free!
        1991 Festiva L, Surf Blue with A/C
        1995 Jeep Cherokee 2wd 5 speed 4.0 and it was free!
        1993 Aqua Festiva and it was cheap!
        1994 Brake Swap and it was cheap!
        1969 Ford F100 Big Block Ranger and it was free! (coming 2/12)

Comment

O'reillys or other McAutoparts store, complete halfshaft, $60-70, lifetime guaranteed.
          Last edited by Levitan; 03-13-2010, 10:17 AM.
          ENFORCER - Midwest Festiva Inc., Iowa

#1 '90 Sport to modified Lx - RollazX
          #2 .....Cheesehead
          #3 '91 White - Donor Car
          #4 .....Montana Project
          SOLD----Levistiva for $1500