Timing belt to tight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Timing belt to tight

Just wanted to know if anyone else has bought a timing belt here: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/88-97...item45ee45d151

and found that it seemed very tight. When I just put it on the b3 im re-building, I had to really fight to put it on. I tried putting it on without the tensioner, and with the tensioner. I tightened the tensioner bolt with the tensioner as loose as it would go, put the belt on, and went to loosen the bolt figuring the spring would pull the belt tight. Instead it ended up loosing the tensioner more, because the spring dosent have enough strength to tension the belt.

It just seems strange that that it so ungodly tight, even without the tensioner. I've never done a belt before, only timing chains, and after searching on here, i found that a belt thats to tight is no good.

i'm going to contact the seller about this, but i figured i'd ask for some insight here as well.
    1990 Festiva L "puddles". 187,000 mi. All stock, B8 coming this fall to a festiva near you

Do not write below this line; for office use only

count the teeth from your old belt and the new belt, if they don't match, you were sent the wrong belt.
    Trees aren't kind to me...

currently: 2 88Ls (Scrappy and Jersey), 88LX, 90L(Pepe), 91L, 91GL (Skippy) 93 GL Sport (the Mighty Favakk), 94 (Bruce) & 95 Aspire SEs, 97 Aspire (The Joker),
    94 Justy 4WD, 87 Fiero GT, plus 2 parts cars. That's my fleet.

Comment

that makes sense, lol now i just need to find my old belt.
      1990 Festiva L "puddles". 187,000 mi. All stock, B8 coming this fall to a festiva near you

Comment

spare belt was nowhere to be found, but i counted 108 teeth

Comment

Third post in a row:

I took some pictures to show what i mean:

don't mind the hob gobbed rtv

Comment

Originally posted by ckiesman View Post