Brake rotors, Festiva noob here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brake rotors, Festiva noob here

I just picked up a 90 with warped/rusted rotors, how are these things attached? I assume I can't just wail on them and have success.

Thanks,
    Bob

the rotors get bolted on from the back side (stupid design in my opinion) you need to take the axle nut off to pull the hub apart (comes off with the rotor) then you'll see the 4 bolts that holds the rotor on

1988 323 Station Wagon - KLG4 swapped
    1988 323 GT - B6T Powered
    2008 Ford Escape - Rollover Survivor

1990 Festiva - First Ever Completed KLZE swap (SOLD)

If no one from the future stops you from doing it, how bad of a decision can it really be?

Comment

I took the axle locknut off, I can see the four bolts. How do I remove them?

I assume once I back them out, the hub (thingy the lug studs thread into) will come off and I can pull the rotor off.

Comment

Aspire conversion

Find a Ford Aspire at the junk yard and do the Aspire brake conversion. It is worth every penny. Your Festiva will stop in half the distance. I wouldn't spend a dime for replacement rotors.
        Unfortunately, you will need larger rims.

Comment

Brake conversion, Huh? I'll look into it. Already bought the rotors, $35, need to get this on the road ASAP, preferably tonight...

Comment

You hub is a pressed fit, You need to remove the hub assembly from the car then either press the hub apart or have it done someplace. Once you separate the two halfs then you can remove the four bolts holding the rotor on.
            Brian
            http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2274977

93 GL modyfied!!!
            :fish:

Comment

Great. Whats the chance the bearing will separate when pressed?

Edit: OK, bit confused here. I figured if the bearing was pressed in, it would be one of those big sealed units. I'm seeing the loose "cone and cap" type bearings for sale...