Shifter Play Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shifter Play Problems

OK...I'm pretty new to ff.com and I'm what you young kids would politely call a "senior citizen". So if I am not following the rules in adding this new thread, or in any other way, please let me know the rule I have broken and I will not break it in the future.
    Background:
    I have owned 5 festivas in the past 21 years. My wife has a 1990 with 82428 original miles on it and I have a 1992 which I rescued from a Junk Yard in 2007, and my son (SFestiva here) now owns the 1990 that I bought new. In the past few years I have replaced the engines in all three of these with engines from FestivaMotorsport (The engine in the low miles 1990 had to be replace after water was sucked into the air intake a few year ago).

Here are the details of my shifter problem.
    Info ( ) is just added for clarity and can be skipped over.

Actual Miles on my 1992 Festiva Gl: 249,696.

(In case you look at my gas mileage post, my old speedometer showing 214,358 was replaced with used Speedo with tach which showed 161,194 in February 2009. It now shows 195,932 so I have to add 53,164 to get the true mileage on the car.)

The shifter has tons of play in it and I would like to fix it.
    I have linkage bushings for it and will replace them.

For the first time, I took the shifter apart to look at the parts on the inside.
    Problem is, I don't know if they are worn to much and I need to get one of the short shifter replacements or just put it back together.
    I could just put the bushing in and see if that solves the problem completely but, I would like to get others oponions first. I have taken pictures of all the parts of the shifter and would like to upload so you can see.
    Haven't figured out how to do that yet but am working on it (success).
    In the meantime...knowledgeable member please respond.