Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel Pump help (1988)

Hello friends,

My dear Festiva quit drinking gas yesterday. I took the line apart at the fuel filter (went ahead and replaced it as well) and no gas whatsoever when trying to start.

I'll just say I'm a novice when it comes to car repair. Fuel pump? What just occurred to me is that perhaps the pump is located after the filter on the gas line, in which case my clever little diagnostic test was meaningless. Is the pump that little guy that's sitting on the engine that the line runs into after the filter? Like I said, novice. Additionally, is that the right place to look for my trials?

Don't make fun, any help and other thoughts would be appreciated as always. Cheers.

Yes you are correct!! Why not post your address and maybe I can ship you one if your not to far !!
    New build on the way .

Comment

The fuel pump on the '88 is at the driver's end of the engine block, at the top, at the back. It's mechanical with a lever which sits on a cam on the cam shaft. You can test the line which comes out of the carburettor side of the pump. Stick it in a container to catch the gas. Very easy to replace is defective.
      Original owner of silver grey carburetted 1989 Festiva. 105k km as of June 2006. 140k km as of June 2021.

Comment

Thanks. I have regained the courage to continue.

Tested the fuel pump on the OUTLET side, and had some pressure and gas. Any knowledge on just how much PSI I'm looking for? Visually, the stream looked to be pretty substantial, though again, I don't really know what I'm looking for. Hooked up to a gauge, it didn't read much more than 2-4 PSI. Is that bad enough even though the pump is at least doing something similar to its original design?

Additional diagnostic efforts:
        Sprayed starter fluid straight into the carb while it was being cranked and nothing. Double checked spark and we're good there.

Go ahead and replace the pump?

Comment