Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I return with poor tidings!

Hello long lost friends and experts!

I have returned with yet another dilemma (along with all those preexisting).
    For those of you who remember my brake line problem from a few months back, i'll have you know...it's still not fixed. Long story short I don't make enough with my job to pay off debts already owed and fix my beloved festiva. Trust me in this. If I could..I would.

At any rate, here is my newest problem.
    Considering my precious is more or less disabled and just camping out in the driveway, I have done as any good keeper should and start her up a few times a week. I have been doing so for a few months now and only tonight have I encountered the following issue.

After idling for a good 10-15 minutes or so (i've not started her in almost a week), she started to vibrate and make a decent din under the hood. Well maybe not din, rather just a loud (considerably louder than normal) noise. It sounded like perhaps the fan turned on or some other device to cool off the engine you know? Like in the summer when the air conditioner is on and suddenly the car makes that commotion signifying the cooling apparatus or whatever it is? For those of you who haven't read any of my posts before, I know next to nothing about the mechanics of an automobile, so forgive me.

BUT ANYWAY, after this happened I rolled the windows down and continued to idle and listen for another 5 minutes or so. After a good 1-2 minutes the sound ceased and the normally quiet purr of my beast continued. Yet sure enough the sound returned and I immediately shut off the car and popped the hood.

Lo and behold! Upon placing my hand on the hood, it was much warmer to the touch than my normal idling. It rather felt like I had been out for a long days drive. I then opened her up and was greeted by a waft of hot, rubbery?, hard working engine smell.