Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Festivas, car wont hold idle.. yadda yadda

Hi all,

I just picked up an '88 Festiva L. Clean shell but it won't start. It turns over and if you spray starting fluid into it it will run for a bit then dies. It sat for a while and I am not the first person to try and get it going.

The fuel pump didn't seem to be pumping anything... It appears brand new. The spacer is in place. Ichecked the tank, It was empty. I put in a gallon or two but it still doesnt seem to want to pump. How long do these take to prime? I can't get my vaccuum pump to build any vaccuum on either the fuel line or return either. I'm dropping it now to check for leaks.

I took the carburetor in to get it looked at as well. They told me that whatever lets the fuel in for idling is completely blocked. I've worked on lots of cars, but they were all FI. I am new to carburetors.

I found a fellow on here that will rebuild for $150 and will probably take him up on that once I am positive I have fuel getting to it.

Initial questions;

1. Is there anything I am missing here? These cars seem simple but the vaccuum diagram looks like a bunch of snakes having an orgy in a bowl of spaghetti.

2. Is the top of the tank accessible from under the seat to remove lines/etc.? Everything is loose from below but it seems to be caught on something.

3. If I can't get this POS running, who wants to come buy it?

1. blocked fuel line? disconnect line into pump and blow. check filtre on lower fire wall.
    2. lift carpet and unscrew inspection port to see inlet, check for clogged screen
    3. put your location in your profile?
    Original owner of silver grey carburetted 1989 Festiva. 105k km as of June 2006. 140k km as of June 2021.

Comment

if its a pos why did you buy it? list your location so someone can come take that off your hands.
      Never Hire a Boy to do a Man's Job!!

Comment

Sounds like the car is totaled I'll take it off your hands