B3 Shake & Bake questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• B3 Shake & Bake questions

I recently took in my girlfriend's '89 B3 engine block to get the old shake & bake from NAPA auto, and I had a few questions about what to do next! This is my first engine block cleaning and engine rebuild, so I'm very excited to get started

Question 1: Does the mating surface look okay? High-resolution mating surface photo! I've spent myself into a pretty good hole, so I don't want to get it resurfaced unless I have to. Second mating surface photo! I'm new to making this type of judgement, so I'm not sure how to feel. The entire surface has that slight outline of the old gasket to it, but looks pretty decent to my untrained eye. My engine head has been resurfaced.

Question 2: What's the easiest way to hone the piston chambers? There are some rust rings in the chambers after I got it back, so honing should probably be in order.

Question 3: I should definitely paint the engine block, correct? If so, what's the best method of painting, and what kind of paint do you recommend?

Sorry for the lengthy post, but I really don't want to screw up my first complete engine rebuild. My girlfriend would not be happy :nono: If my photo sucks, I can provide more! Thanks a lot for taking the time to read

Would recommend taking it back to Napa and have them hone it for you. They did mine for 7.00 per cylinder. Do not assemble the engine without cleaning the block thoroughly with soapy water. Scrub and blow out all the oil passages with engine brushes and compressed air. I would make that the last thing you do, just prior to assembly.i
    Brian

93L - 5SP, FMS springs, 323 alloys, 1st gen B6, ported head & intake, FMS cam, ported exhaust manifold w/2-1/4" head pipe.
    04 Mustang GT, 5SP, CAI, TFS plenum, 70mm TB, catted X, Pypes 304SS cat-back, Hurst Billet+ shifter, SCT/Bama tuned....4.10's & cams coming soon
    62 Galaxie 2D sedan project- 428, 3x2V, 4SP, 3.89TLOC