Electrical problem / Starter S-terminal no-go / need guidance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical problem / Starter S-terminal no-go / need guidance

I don't have a test light or another person to try to turn on/off the car to figure out the issue. I will be buying a test light soon. Last night I studied over the EVTM and today used it to try troubleshooting the start/ignition circuit. It's interesting because there's no troubleshoot for "no crank".

I'm suspecting battery, ignition wiring cluster, bad connection somewhere, possibly starter but doubtful imo.

Some background.. I've never had a starting issue or really any issue other than a fuel pump go bad. About a year ago I rebuilt a 1st gen B6, got it installed and everything was good except compression from pitting in the cylinder bores, which I expected since the pistons were rust-bonded to the engine. Fun rebuild none-the-less. I later found another b6 tow behind tracer, bought that engine because the car was banged up pretty good but the engine bay was pretty clean, figured it should be a good swap. A few months ago I got it installed and had some help from Skeeter but when we were ready to fire it wouldn't crank. We jumped it and got it running and ever since it has had an on/off issue with the starter. Sometimes it'll crank and most of the time it won't even pop the drive.