Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Horrible scraping sound when clutch is released.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Horrible scraping sound when clutch is released.

So, I was driving on the highway today, and I thought I heard a fiant wining sound. I turned my music down, and couldnt pick it up to clearly.

When I got to my exit, I stopped. At the stop, my car would make an awful grinding sound (kind of like plastic scraping along pavement) whenever I let out the clutch, whether in neutral, or any gear. The sound was only occasional (every few seconds), so I limped it the 1/2 mile home.

It doesnt make a significant amount of sound when the clutch is depressed, but if I let it out it is horrible.

Also, when I put it in gear, it starts struggling as if Ive let out the clutch some when I havent.

The first thing I would think to point fingers at is the throwout bearing, or clutch. However, Im not very experienced at fixing manual (or any for that matter) transmissions.

Also, the PO said the clutch was recently changed. I know its quite possibly BS, but I figured it worth mentioning.

Any ideas?
    '97 Aspire

Oh, and it popped out of gear a couple times...
    '97 Aspire

Comment

I'd start with the release bearing, that's usually the first candidate for this type of noise. Although I wouldn't rule out that the PO could have botched the clutch job in some way (if he in fact did install a new one). Input shaft bearings can also make a terrible noise under load but that's a little more difficult to fix and most people remedy that problem by swapping in another transmission.

Oh, and one more thing....have you checked the fluid level in the transmission? That's usually a good place to start with a new car in order to verify all the fluids are at the proper levels and in good condition.
      Last edited by Zanzer; 06-14-2013, 08:51 PM.
      If a hammer doesn't fix it you have an electrical problem

WWZD
      Zulu Ministries

Comment