Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Throttle Position Sensor, (TPS) Quick question!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Throttle Position Sensor, (TPS) Quick question!

Hey guys, I have a quick question about my tps sensor. When I replaced my valve cover gasket I noticed that tps was in the way from removing valve cover, so (being a total newb) I loosened the bolts and pulled on it trying to clear a path for cover. Couldn't get it to budge, so I decided to grab my manual to see what in the heck the little black box was anyway, prob should have done this first, I know. So I find out that it's position is critical and that I may have screwed up by loosing the bolt. I don't think It moved at all.
    I managed to just remove the throttle body and all was smooth after that. Once it was all back together the engine ran like crap, but it was from the since I received it recently as it has been sitting for six years with old plugs and gas. I managed to remove the old gas today and install new plugs. I discovered that one of the plugs was unhooked. She's been running on 3 cylinders! Got the battery on the charger and I will turn the key in a few hours and........ I'm hoping for the best. Just wondering if I may have messed up with loosening the tps, pretty sure that it didn't move, but..... any thought, prayers, comment's, words of wisdom, will be greatly appreciated.

P.S. - I haven't touched the car in a while until yesterday, went to get the title transferred and got my tag. I'm ready to roll!!
    P.P.S.- Once I get it running smooth that is!!

Your fine. If I remember correctly, the TPS on these is not like those on newer cars. It's not really critical of an exact position. It's very simple.....really only distinguishes 2 positions; idle and WOT.
    Brian

93L - 5SP, FMS springs, 323 alloys, 1st gen B6, ported head & intake, FMS cam, ported exhaust manifold w/2-1/4" head pipe.