Crank no start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crank no start

It's got a new battery although it sounds like a very weak battery all of the sudden. It wouldn't roll start either. Nor would it start with jumper cables. Help I'm not good at trouble shooting

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
    93 L plus 5 speed, custom herculined paint job, custom billet grille

Common stuff first:
    Check all vaccume hoses. If one is unplugged from either end or broken it wont start.
    Wire from coil to dist still attached?
    Vaf still plugged in?
    After that check if you have fuel. Then sheck for spark. Then check vaccume and report back

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Checked fuseable links
      Checked vacuum lines
      Checked vaf.. a little oil in there would that cause it not to start?
      Getting fuel
      Getting spark at the plugs.
      What now?

Comment

A little oil in the VAF is a common byproduct of blow by in these engines. The oil in the VAF should not keep your engine from running. If you have fuel and spark during cranking, all that is left is compression and timing. Make sure the timing belt has not jumped by ensuring the crank and cam marks are aligned properly when no. 1 cylinder is at top dead center. At the same, ensure the rotor button is pointing to the no. 1 wire in the dizzy cap. The rotor button can be installed in 3 different positions. 2 of those will not allow the engine to run. Have you checked engine compression? Did you make sure the VAF door is moving freely?

"Fred" 93 Festiva L B6-ME Swap
        “Though he is small, he is but fierce.”

Comment

Door is moving freely. It ran fine last night wouldn't start this morning I wouldn't have thought timing could be off

Comment