Replacing HLA in Festiva rockers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing HLA in Festiva rockers

I got my rebuilt head back from the machine shop yesterday and I've decided to replace the HLA s before I put the
    rockers arms back on.

I've never done this before. Anything special I need to know.. watch out for?

Do I just pull the old ones out and push the new ones in?

Also.. The shop charged $299 for the complete job with parts and labor which included 4 new exhaust valves and cam seal.
    Is that a typical charge?

Kept searching using different search criteria "lifters" and found this:
    http://www.fordfestiva.com/forums/sh...hlight=lifters

So i guess I covered (except for price question) unless someone else wants to add some words of experience and wisdon.
    Last edited by 1990new; 09-17-2016, 08:57 PM.

Considering the work that was done, I'd say the price is within reason (assuming deck, valve lap, clean and pressure test, new guide seals)
    Trees aren't kind to me...

currently: 2 88Ls (Scrappy and Jersey), 88LX, 90L(Pepe), 91L, 91GL (Skippy) 93 GL Sport (the Mighty Favakk), 94 (Bruce) & 95 Aspire SEs, 97 Aspire (The Joker),
    94 Justy 4WD, 87 Fiero GT, plus 2 parts cars. That's my fleet.

Comment

Price sounds good to me actually.
      I cleaned my hla's. Just pulled em out, soaked them, pushed them back in and pumped them in a cup of oil. Worked quite well. With new ones maybe you have to soak them overnight like they said, couldnt hurt.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by FestYboy View Post
        Considering the work that was done, I'd say the price is within reason (assuming deck, valve lap, clean and pressure test, new guide seals)
        They did all that in addition to the four new exhaust valves, polishing the cam and smoothed out some pitting in the #4 chamber, so I guess I got a fair deal.