Auto vs Stick

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auto vs Stick

Hello newbie here, question, I have a 91 Fiesta with a 5 speed manual transmission. Looking to do the BP swap. I came a cross a 94 Protoge' LX with an Automatic transmission. The Protoge' was to tempting @ $500 for the whole car. Straight car, all glass good, valve guides smoking on start-up. Here is the bad news ....Automatic transmission. Ultimately, I would like to see this Festy somewhere around 200 horses. 2 questions,
    1) will the Automatic hold up?
    2) what kind of headaches am I in for concerning wiring harnesses, sensors etc.?
    Thanks Dave
    91' Festy - BP Swap - 94 Protoge'
    97' Aspire (Blue Boy)
    97' Aspire - purple (Jelly Bean)
    07' Mazda 6 02' FX4 - F150

With a BP swap, the auto will be fine. Maybe better than a 5 spd manual.
    Now sell me your 5 spd.
    Dan

Red 1988 Festiva L - CUJO

Black 1992 Festiva GL Sport - BLACK MAGIC

I'm just...a little slow... sometimes:withstupid:

R.I.P.
    Blue 1972 Chevelle SS-468 C.I.D. B'nM TH400-4:56 posi-Black racing stripes-Black vinyl top-Black int.
    Black on black 1976 Camaro LT-350 4 bolt main .060 over
    Silver 1988 Festiva L

My Music!
    http://www.reverbnation.com/main/sea...t_songs/266647

Comment

He meant the BP had an Automatic transmission, and his Festiva has a standard tranny. He's asking if the harness will still match up similar to a 5 speed DOHC engine.

Take it back to the back porch, join the 3 string revolution.

Comment

^ ok chris, i just got done posting to your other post and as i read it, you have a G series for the BP swap into the festy, correct?

if so, read the other post, if NOT, you'll need the entire engine harness from the LX swaped into the festy (not too bad a job actually).
        Trees aren't kind to me...

currently: 2 88Ls (Scrappy and Jersey), 88LX, 90L(Pepe), 91L, 91GL (Skippy) 93 GL Sport (the Mighty Favakk), 94 (Bruce) & 95 Aspire SEs, 97 Aspire (The Joker),