brake swap, capri/aspire?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• brake swap, capri/aspire?

What is the difference between either of these swaps? Is there any reason to do one over the other? Do they use the same wheels?

Sofar from searches I've found that the capri brakes are larger but don't bolt up as easily, is this right?

Also, how much heavier are the aspire/capri parts than stock festy?
    OX SMASH!!

I have no experience with the capri brakes. From what I've seen the capri rotors bolt on like the festivas which is terrible way to attach them. So I would lean towards the aspire. There are a few posts on the capri brakes.

Don't worry about the weight. I'm sure the aspire brakes are heavier than the festivas but the stopping difference is well worth it.

They aspire and capri will fit the same wheels.

matt

BP Festiva http://www.cardomain.com/ride/723319 - SOLD
    BPT Festiva www.cardomain.com/ride/2260009 - SOLD
    BPT GTX www.cardomain.com/ride/2436495 - SOLD
    New GTX - http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3294846/ - SOLD

Comment

Well, with how little the rear brakes do I am wanting to keep them as light as possible.

I just thought of another question, some aspires have ABS right? what would it take to get that working on a festy?
      OX SMASH!!

Comment

REAR BRAKES

use aspire unit (with the beam) improve braking and suspension.

Comment

The advantages of the Aspire brake and suspension swap outweigh any weight penalties, unless you are modding your Festiva for airworthiness.

When I do my next suspension swap, I hope to document the weight differences between all the different parts. I'm just curious.

My guess is that the rear Aspire beam swap creates a greater weight disparity than does the (manual rotor) front swap.

Improved braking, increased rear roll stiffness, and having a nicely functioning parking brake are very much worth the work! (Plus the greater ease in doing your front brakes.)

Karl