fuel milage mpg auto trans

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fuel milage mpg auto trans

hi new to this forum. looking to buy a festiva as I'm commuting 135 miles a day. I actually learned to drive in a festiva so for an econo car I have a lil soft spot for the quirky lil car. I've searched here and only am getting a few results for mileage comparisons. and mostly I see only manual trans posting. Ive been driving manual for all my life except for a few months of my life, i'm looking into an auto for the terrible socal rush hour commute. but cant find much info on people posting their mpgs with autos. so if anyone can post up and results for mpg with an auto itd be helpful for my next purchase.

Wife's car gets 32-36 mainly in town driving, i.e. <45mph
    1963 Fairlane - future NSS drag car
    1965 Mustang Coupe - A-code car, restoring for/with my son
    1973 F100 longbed - only 22k original miles, 360/auto, disk, PS/PB dealer in dash A/C
    1996 Sonoma X-cab - son's DD
    2002 Grand Prix - daughter's DD
    2003 Sport Trac - 180k, 130k on replaced motor with new timing chains - F/S soon.
    2005 Accord - wife's DD
    2008 Mountaineer - step daughter's DD
    2015 F150 SCrew - DD

Comment

Get the 5 speed you will be glad you did in the long run.

Comment

yeah I probably will. just saw a <50k mile auto with a/c very clean. gonna hold out for a 5sp w/ a/c and fi. are the 5spds average about 40-45 with keeping 55-65mph?

Comment

At 55mph steady, 42-43MPG is very possible. At 65, it usually drops to about 37-40. Atleast for me.

As for my auto; I drive it very hard, and way too fast for a broken B3. I've gotten as high as 40.2 (211 miles on exactly 5 gallons of gas, empty to empty/seriously slow driving), but my average is about 29-32 at 65-75MPH. I've never gotten below 26, but that's just pure luck.

-Joe
          White '92 GL 5-speed BP, G series, Aspire/Rio swapped, "Nancy"
          White '89 LX 5-speed, Aspire swapped, Weber carb