Questions on taking apart a B6

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions on taking apart a B6

I've taken a head off a B3 before, but I wasn't going to put it all back together! Now, however, I'm checking out and freshening up a B6 for AquaMutt--and it has to RUN after I put it back together! It's my first time so I'm a bit jittery.

I'm mainly concerned with aligning the cam, crank and distributor after taking off the head and timing belt and replacing with new belt, WP and all seals. (I won't be taking apart the head, though.) I plan to turn the crank to observe the pistons when the head is off, unless that's a bad idea.

Any suggestions on this? Is it as simple as aligning the crank and cam sprockets with the timing marks when cylinder #1 is at TDC?

I'm assuming "cylinder #1" is the closest one to the timing belt, right?

Yes, I have the Festiva shop manual and a Chilton's for 323/etc., but I suppose I could use some encouragement!!

Karl
    '93GL "Prettystiva" ticking B3 and 5 speed, backup DD; full swaps in spring!
    '91L "AquaMutt" my '91L; B6 swap/5 speed & Aspire brakes, DD/work car
    '92L "Twinstiva" 5sp, salvage titled, waiting for repairs...
    '93GL "Luxstiva," '94 B6 engine & ATX; needs overhauled
    '89L "Muttstiva," now a storage bin, future trailer project