Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Car will not start! Fuel and fire is getting to the engine.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Car will not start! Fuel and fire is getting to the engine.

Hello everyone,

I have a 1993 Festiva GL Manual with a 1.3 Engine.

I was driving the other day and as I was shifting from 3rd to 4th the car stopped accelerating so I drifted to the side and it shut off. I tried to start it again and the engine turned over but it just would not start.

I hauled it back to the house. My original thought was that the fuel pump had gone bad so me and my dad checked the fuel pump and it was still working. We checked the spark plugs up against metal and they were arching. We followed the fuel line all the way up to the injectors and fuel comes out when I turn the key.

So we have fire and fuel going in to the engine but for some reason it will not start. I wonder if it my be the timing belt but I am not sure. I am very new to mechanical work and my dad has helped me thus far but we have reached our limit of expertise.

If you have any suggestions or fixes then let me know! All help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
    ScooterPookin

The belt may have slipped more than two teeth. Pull your upper timing
    belt cover and align the marks on the gear by turning the engine. See
    if the crank gear mark aligns.

And Welcome!!
    Reflex paint by Langeman...Lifted...Tow Rig

Comment

hole in the rubber intake hose? would cause your vaf to not trigger and work properly. if theres no air being sucked through it it will not start or maybe the flap is just stuck in the closed position. dont know? i just know this happened to me on another car before.
      -90 festiva - bp swap "relentless" (thanks matt) aspire swap, pacesetter, underdrive pulley
      -90 festiva - surf blue (undetermined destiny) wanna keep but wifey says noooooooo

Comment

Its possible ! Usually there will not be any fuel at the injector