Front End Work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Front End Work

So this weekend I am going to be installing new lower control arms, sway bar bushings, wheel bearings, and since I'm in the neighborhood, new tie rods. I am new to these procedures, but luckily I have a mechanic friend who will be schooling me in the ways of the wrench. I was wondering if anyone had any general advice, or suggestions about other things I should look into while I am doing this work. I would like to get as much accomplished in 1-2 days as possible so I won't have to worry about the front end for a while. The car is a 1989 4 speed with 167,000 miles on it. Thanks guys!

Not sure if you live in the rust belt but, if you do spray all bolts down with a good oil. Pb blaster is what I prefer.
    With special attention to the lower control arm bolt that goes into the uni body.
    As long as everything comes apart its a pretty easy job.
    I like to spray the bolts down a couple of days before doing the work.
    Last edited by william; 10-06-2014, 07:19 PM.

Comment

Also on the lower control arm inner bolt: remove the bolt at the knuckle first, then take the control arm off the sway bar. Lastly, remove the inner control arm bolt. The reason for this order is to remove any lateral stress on the inner bolt and captured nut as you are removing it. Extra stress will torque the spot welds on the captured nut, and make it more likely that it will break off. Use PB Blaster liberally on that nut and the bolt. You can spray the nut from the back side too.
      90 Festy (Larry)--B6M (Matt D. modified B6 head), header, 5-speed, Capri XR2 front brakes, many other little mods
      09 Kia Rondo--a Festy on steroids!

You can avoid reality, but you can't avoid the consequences of avoiding reality--Ayn Rand

Disaster preparedness

Tragedy and Hope.....Infowars.com.....The Drudge Report.....Founding Fathers.info