Body work,metal straightening.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Body work,metal straightening.

I have a rust free festy that came out of Az that i would like to straighten up the rear quarters on.My experience on body work has been limited to patch,paint and go but this is worthy of more and i want it to be right even with me doing the work.I have the rear axle beam out so now is the best time in that regard.I am looking for advise before i start from those that have superior knowledge and experience on the subject.I will post some pics when i have daylight.

Idk if these pics show enough but this is what the worst quarter looks like.Maybe my best bet is to try to google and find some videos.

Comment

Probably googling how to do bodywork would be the best for you. Videos help some people. I did bodywork for a living but to try and type a tutorial is a lot of work. The pictures are not very helpful but it looks like you could buy:
      Cheap body hammer, proper grits of sandpaper, bodyfiller, high build primer, blocks and paint and do it. Tap from the inside and outside till the dents are fairly level and just below where the panel should be. Then take a block and sand it with 40 grit, remove all paint, tap in any high spots you missed. Spread fibreglass filler or bondo on. Fibreglass can do thick stuff, is tough, doesnt absorb water. Lightweight bodyfiller shouldnt be used over 1/8 in thick and it absorbs water, so if you have holes dont use it first. Sand that with 80 grit, then go over with bondo and rough out in 80 and finish in 120. Then use finishing putty and feather out to 220 grit. Prime. Block straight. Repeat till good and finish the panel in 600-800 depending on what paint you want to use.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

If you could place a light directly above the area, then take a pic it would probably give a better indication what the damage actually is.