Wheel bearings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wheel bearings

what's the best/easiest way to replace the front bearings on a '91 Festiva L with a 5 speed?
    5 Festys and counting!!
    1993 GL auto 126,000mi
    1991 red 5-speed B6T G25 swap in progress 255,000mi
    1990 white 5-speed/Aspire swap daily driver 273,000 mi.
    1989 silver 4-speed parts car
    1989 white auto El Festivo
    1992 Chevy Silverado K1500 soon to have 383 stroker
    1999 Mercury Sable
    1992 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi Supercharged For Sale

Re: Wheel bearings

Originally posted by zrice88
    what's the best/easiest way to replace the front bearings on a '91 Festiva L with a 5 speed?
    Remove the knuckles and take them to a machine shop. Say "yes" when they ask if you want them to turn the rotors while they're at it. If the ball joints are at all questionable, do them at the same time.

Comment

cant i just do it my self? i work in a garage and have access to a press. won't i need an alignment after that?
      5 Festys and counting!!
      1993 GL auto 126,000mi
      1999 Mercury Sable

Comment

why would you need an alignment after taking them off?
        69 Shelby GT-350, 351W, 4 spd
        97 Jag xk8 vert
        06 Mini Cooper S GP
        93 Stiva
        04 Volvo S80

Comment

Originally posted by zrice88
          cant i just do it my self? i work in a garage and have access to a press. won't i need an alignment after that?
          You can do it with a press. You will need several short strong pieces of steel to build sort of a "bridge" to support the knuckle while you press the hub from it. You shouldn't need an alignment as long as you took the tie rod out of the knuckle and didn't unscrew it from the inner tie rod/rack. All the attaching points for the hub are non-adjustable.
          You gonna race that thing?
          http://www.sdfcomputers.com/Festivaracing.htm

Comment

thanx for clearing that up for me
            5 Festys and counting!!