91 Festiva high/strange idle when warn

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 91 Festiva high/strange idle when warn

Hi, I have a 1991 Ford Festiva. It has a 1.3 liter engine with a 5-speed manual. It idles high all the time I would say somewhere around 1700 RPM just guessing. After it warms up when I am coasting to a stop it idles up then seems to cut out for a second and repeats this until I come to a stop. It also revs up right when I push in the clutch as if I'm pushing in the clutch too quickly but I'm not. I have zero experience with these cars as I just picked this up as a beater while I rebuild the engine in my 01 Cummins. Any advice or Insight would be appreciated thanks

Sounds like the Iac is going crazy.
    I would try cleaning it.

Comment

Check that there are no leaks between the IAC and TB, then locate the base idle screw on the TB ( front right corner of TB as you look from engine bay), it's a flat tipped screw that sits inside a vertical tube that is usually covered by a small rubber dust cap. Screw it in all the way and then back off in 1/2 turn increments untill idle is ~ 650 warm.
      Trees aren't kind to me...

currently: 2 88Ls (Scrappy and Jersey), 88LX, 90L(Pepe), 91L, 91GL (Skippy) 93 GL Sport (the Mighty Favakk), 94 (Bruce) & 95 Aspire SEs, 97 Aspire (The Joker),
      94 Justy 4WD, 87 Fiero GT, plus 2 parts cars. That's my fleet.

Comment

Put smoke through the system and had no vacuum leaks anywhere. I'll try cleaning iac and adjusting the screw

Comment

Well I cleaned it out.. Nothing seemed to dirty but who knows. I got the idle to sit down better with that screw but I have not and will not have time to drive until tomorrow unfortunately. I will see if the rev up between shifts is better and if it still goes up and down at all... I cleaned out the maf like thing on top of the air box as well...

Comment