New to the forums..vehicle idles rough

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the forums..vehicle idles rough

Hello all!! I’m newish to the forums and I’m having issues with a 93 festiva at idle, vehicle is misfiring at idle but runs fine at higher rpms, I’ve changed the cap, rotor, new wires and spark plugs also swapped the distruibutor over from a 91 as the connector housing on top of the dizzy was broken and missing a piece. I did the usual steps I set gap to spec on all 4 cylinders, had vehicle idling and removed the plugs one by one only cylinder 2 didn’t change when pulled, removed plug it smelled slightly like fuel, swapped cylinder 2 injector for another one, with no change to the rough idling, I’m still new to festivas just wondering if I can scratch someone’s brain for a bit

welcomsign
    welcome.

Clean your engine grounds and the terminals that hold your fusible links.
    Report back.

Comment

Cleaned off the surface and the wire eyelets on the passenger side strut pillar, ground location near the dizzy, and the fuse able links have to find pal fuses soon, those links were nerve wracking to remove. Also are the intakes for the 93 different from the 91”s?... still misfiring but it’s a bit better oddly

Comment

Try the pal fuses, try an old spark plug in the #2 cylinder that was misfiring. Do a compression test, maybe cyl 2 is lower or higher than the rest. Mark the distributor position and move it around. Maybe your ignition timing is off after you changed the distributor

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk

Comment

Just wondering why you replaced everything but the coil? I did that. The coil was original, oldest igntion component on my car, and when I replaced it the missing ended. You could also look at connections. I found corrosion in the connector at the centre of my car's coil or distributor, forget which.